Home » World News » FinMin may extend IT exemption to private PF trusts till Mar 2013

FinMin may extend IT exemption to private PF trusts till Mar 2013

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 540 other followers

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

NEW DELHI: The Finance Ministry is likely to extend the income tax exemption on retirement benefits to private PF trusts for the current fiscal.

The extension of IT exemption is likely to be part of the Finance Bill 2012, which will come up for discussion in the Lok Sabha on May 7, a Finance Ministry official told PTI.

“The ministry is considering the matter and the amendments may come in the Finance Bill. The exemption is likely to be extended to March 31,2013,” the official said.

Earlier this month Labour Minister Mallikarjun Kharge had written to Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee to consider extending the time-limit for private PF trusts to seek exemption from income tax on retirement benefits.

About 46 lakh subscribers of such trusts face the threat of their retirement funds coming under tax net as Budget 2012-13 is silent on this issue.

“I would also request to consider extending time-limit expiring on March 31, 2012, for private PF Fund to get exemption for EPFO Act to up to March 31, 2013 so that enough time is available to process the eligible cases by EPFO,” Kharge had said in his letter.

In 2006, the then Finance Minister P Chidambaram had made it mandatory for all such PF trusts to seek exemption certificates from the Labour Ministry within a year for enjoying the tax benefits.

Since all these trusts could not get the exemption certificates in that year, successive budgets have given annual waiver on request from the Labour Ministry.

Out of 2,700 trusts, only 284 have so far been given the exemption certificates from the Labour Ministry while 400 applications are under process.

Kharge, in his letter, also assured the Finance Ministry that the process of issuing exemption certificates to these trusts would be expedited and completed within the current fiscal.

The issue has serious implications for both employees and employers. In the absence of waiver, annual accretion to the PF is considered part of salary and is thus taxable.

Secondly, income generated out of investment of the trust would also attract tax.

Moreover, deduction allowed to employers on contribution to the PF fund would also go in the absence of waiver.

33 Comments

  1. Wonderful work! That is the type of info that should be shared around the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for no longer positioning this post higher! Come on over and talk over with my web site . Thanks =)

  2. Terrific work! That is the type of information that are supposed to be shared around the net. Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning this publish higher! Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thank you =)

  3. URL says:

    Of course like your internet site but you need to have to check the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling troubles and I uncover it quite bothersome to tell the truth nevertheless I’ll surely come back once again. 477979

  4. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: kackerwords.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/finmin-may-extend-it-exemption-to-private-pf-trusts-till-mar-2013/ […]…

  5. Just Mozzy says:

    Fantastic website. Lots of helpful information here. I’m sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your effort!

  6. Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  7. I comparable this blog its a master peace ! Glad I exposed this by google. “Irrationally apprehended truths may ensue extra destructive than reasoned errors.” by Thomas Huxley.

  8. Declan says:

    I like the way you put out things. It would be nice to read more posts from you. Bookmarked.

  9. Adolfo says:

    Hi. I actually liked reading your post!. Top quality content. I would advise you to create articles much more often. This way, having this kind of a useful weblog I believe that you could rank higher in the search engines 🙂 . I also subscribed for your Rss. Keep up this good job!

  10. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is really irritating. A good web site with interesting content, that is what I need. Thanks for keeping this web-site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  11. Excellent article. I am facing some of these issues as well.
    .

  12. Crucial Aspects Of truck accident attorney pennsylvania – Some Helpful Ideas To Consider http://kathnassar.posterous.com/need-a-exclusive-harm-lawyer-suggestions-on-h

  13. pikavippi says:

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the
    net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly
    get annoyed while people think about worries that they
    just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  14. pikavippi says:

    You’re so cool! I do not suppose I’ve read anything like this before.
    So great to discover another person with a few unique
    thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up.

    This website is something that is needed on the
    web, someone with a little originality!

  15. galaxys3.fr says:

    What’s up, after reading this awesome post i am as well cheerful to share my knowledge here with mates.

  16. Lionel says:

    I think that what you published was very logical. But, consider
    this, suppose you typed a catchier title? I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added a title to possibly get people’s attention?
    I mean FinMin may extend IT exemption to private PF trusts
    till Mar 2013 Global economy & finance journal is a little
    plain. You should look at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create post headlines to get viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get people excited about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it would make your posts a little livelier.

  17. Great article! That is the type of information that are supposed to be shared across the
    internet. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning
    this put up upper! Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)

  18. Lucretia says:

    Hi! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to running a blog however I do write in my diary daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

  19. This paragraph is in fact a pleasant one it helps new internet users, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  20. neopets says:

    Common-Sense buy neopoints online Solutions – The Top Guidelines

  21. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and exposure!

    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  22. Much gratitude to you bringing to light this topic and allowing for some candid conversation, there are lots of issues in society that need some attention, seriously do we need a http://www.paydayloanszonline.com company as the only real place to borrow money for the average joe anymore?

  23. Alejandra says:

    What’s up to every single one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to go to
    see this site, it contains precious Information.

  24. my website says:

    The interest rate applied on these loans is mostly low and therefore become
    very inexpensive as well as convenient for your
    borrower my website whenever you find troubles for accomplishing an urgent task, go through a fairly easy application process which
    consumes several minutes of yours to wrap up the entire formality.

Leave a Reply

